DEP Announces List of Green School Finalists

The 5th Annual Florida Green School Awards Ceremony and Banquet will be held Oct. 29 to celebrate the finalists for their contributions in saving and conserving energy and water and reducing waste.

The Florida Department of Environmental Protection, the Florida Department of Education, the Florida Department of Health, Sustainable Florida and committed community members annually have held the Florida Green School Awards to recognize the environmental achievements of students, teachers, classes, schools and school districts in Florida. This year, DEP, the Department of Education, Department of Health and Sustainable Florida signed a Memorandum of Understanding in order to promote green schools in Florida.

Since 2009, applicants to the Green School Awards program have generated $66 million in cumulative gross cost savings. To apply, participants are encouraged to address one or more of the five approved green school themes. These categories include Green Learning Environments, Exemplary Programs in Curriculum and Teaching, Service Learning, Policy and Partnerships and Recycling.

Below the finalists for the upcoming awards ceremony are listed, as well as three of last year’s awardees, who will be honored for their recurrent achievements under their categories.

COUNTY           STUDENT FINALISTS                   SCHOOL NAME

Palm Beach        Erin Donahue                              Saint Joseph’s Episcopal School

Citrus                 Kaleb Jemison                              Academy of Environmental Science

Brevard              The AVID students                       Stone Middle School


Duval                 Ms. Petote’s 5th Grade Class       Ruth N. Upson Elementary

Orange              Ocoee HS agriculture classes       Ocoee High School

Orange              Service Learning Council              Timber Creek High School


Polk                    Deb Wagner                                 St. Paul Lutheran School

Duval                  Jessica Petote                              Ruth N. Upson Elementary

Hillsborough       Sharon Cutler                               Lawton Chiles Elementary


Brevard              Audubon Elementary School

Palm Beach        Eagles Landing Outdoor Learning Center

Hillsborough       Lawton Chiles Elementary


Broward              Broward County Public Schools     P3 Team

Lee                     School District of Lee County        Curriculum and Staff Development

Palm Beach         School District of Palm Beach Co.

In addition, three of last year’s awardees will be honored for their recurring achievements under their categories.

  • Mr. Escobedo’s Junior Level Class, TERRA Environmental Research Institute(Dade)
  • Driftwood Middle School, Academy of Health and Welness (Broward)
  • Duval County Public Schools, DCPS Green Champions (Duval)


The ceremony will take place:

6:30- 9:00 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 29

Hyatt Regency Orlando

9801 International Drive

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: